Money Money Money

Before the cowboy, there was the punk. I didn’t really think he was much of a punk but he very much liked to think of himself as one so I went with it. He was about 5 years younger than me but we were very much on the same level of maturity. While the cowboy left me with scratches and bruises, the punk left me crippled with internal bleeding. In actuality he left me with swelling on the brain after running me over with his car one night.  Yeah….. we were that dramatic couple.

We were on and off so often that at times even I found it hard to keep up with where we were at. We would fight and do the most dispicable things to each other and then go right on back to being Ty and the punk as if nothing had ever happened. This went on for over 2 years and by the end I was a shell of my former self. I had tried everything to make it work but in the end I realised you just cant turn dog shit into diamonds.

For most of the time that we were together I had a failing business. It constantly kept me down emotionally and mentally. I always felt like I wasnt a good enough provider and therefore a good enough boyfriend. Although in the end I realised that things were shit, there was still always a small part of me that thought “If I had money, maybe things would have been different”. That stupid thought planted itself deep in my brain and eventually became a belief. Somehow I started to believe that if I was to ever have a boyfriend again that I needed money…. and lots of it. The more money I had, the more guys that would be interested in me.

So recently I met this guy. We started chatting and he seemed really nice. It wasnt until after our first date that I realised this guy was easily the richest guy I had ever dated and not by a little bit either. He would be easily 10 times richer than the second richest dude I’ve dated. (Not that I only date rich dudes, my last boyfriend was unemployed) Anyway, this guy had all this money but he had no success with guys or relationships. I couldnt understand it. As I got to know him better I started to see why. While he absolutely ticked the box of being successful, other boxes like personality, humour and fitness were left very blank. He was everything that I wanted to be, my idea of “the ideal man” and yet even I didnt want to date him.

It made me realise that even if I do make a tonne of money. If I ignore all the other aspects of my life then guys still wont want to be with me. Im even starting to think that maybe a lot of guys dont put success at the top of their list when looking for a boyfriend. Maybe things like sense of humour, hot body, able to hold a conversation, great in bed are more important? What is the most important thing you look for in a guy?

Lesson for today: Having the perfect bank balance wont make me happy but being happy will make me perfect.

3 thoughts on “Money Money Money

  1. Honestly, I like a guy that has a lot in common with me (video games for one), though a lot more than that. I don’t really care about looks as I don’t find myself attractive most times. Money has never really been a concern for me, though it would be nice if they had a job at least.

  2. A connection is a must for me, i have to be interested and think that the guy is a good match – we fit with each other. Money is not an issue, however other than being easy going, happy genuine, interesting with a personality, a guy has to at least have drive, I cant be with someone lazy or unmotivated. I once briefly dated a guy who would not do some of his uni assignments because he couldn’t be bothered & they were not a huge part of his final mark – major turn off for me, but i guess that comes down to differences in personality & not being a good match for me.

    I have a friend or two that their only criteria when dating someone is “they’re into me”. Very sad, yeah they get a lot more dates than me, but I prefer quality over quantity . . . . . . . not that its working for me yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

