If I had a choice

I wouldn’t choose this!

If I could choose my sexuality I would choose to be straight.

I mean sure, being gay does have its advantages. If your gay there is a higher chance of you committing suicide, there’s also higher rates of mental illness and drug addiction. If that’s not enough to make you choose to be gay we also have a much higher risk of contracting HIV, getting AIDS and dying! Awesome right?

If that’s not enough of a reason to choose to be gay here are some more awesome reasons to be gay:
You can get discriminated against, that’s right! Complete fucking strangers can hate you for no reason at all!
In most places, You can’t marry the person you love! No need to waste your money on an expensive wedding because YOU can’t have one!
You can’t have kids! Who wants a family anyway?
It is far harder for you to find a partner so instead of a fulfilling relationship, theres a higher chance that you get to spend the rest of your life alone! How exciting!

Anyone who thinks I chose this is a complete fucking idiot!!

I am who I am and I accept my sexuality 100% but this was never ever a choice. If I had a choice, I wouldn’t choose this.

6 thoughts on “If I had a choice

  1. Hey Ty. I wanted you to know I linked this post in the post I wrote today. I was almost done writing it when I saw your post and it just confirmed what I was writing about. I hope you don’t mind. Thanks for your honesty!

  2. Ty,
    Not sure if you remember me but I went to high school with you. I follow your blog religiously. It makes me extremely proud that someone from our class writes such an amazing blog and shows so much courage as to write something so brutally honest.

    It angers me do much that you can do something so amazing that shows your vulnerability and our spineless weak willed childless politicians refuse to allow gay marriage, hiding behind party lines and taking the cowards way out.

    As a gay man your relationships do not devalue mine any less, it is no threat to my way of life and if anything it serves as a shinig example of what love and marriage should be. You face so hardship and adversity for being gay, something which you do not choose, and yet you embrace it and force through all those struggles to be proud and accepted of who you are and who you choose to be with.

    I wish you nothing but love and happiness and success.

Leave a Reply

