My Brothers Reaction

So my brother is your normal 21 year old Aussie straight dude. He’s a tanned tradie with muscles everywhere. He used to be a fighter but now hes a surf lifesaver. Hes an all round good bloke who likes nothing more than sitting around with his mates drinking on the weekend. Being younger I dont expect him to be so grown up but the other day he shocked me.

I made him watch the video “It’s Time” from my last blog. He watched intently and then at the end turned to me and said “That’s Awesome Man”. I was chuffed but didn’t expect what happened next. He turned back to the screen and said “How do I put this on my Facebook?”. I was speechless, I expected him to like it but not that much! I got my breath back and quickly told him how. As he loaded it on I asked “Don’t you care what your friends will think?”, He turned to me and said “Nah man, I’m hell passionate about this. I’m even not gonna get married until you can get married too”

I almost burst into tears and fell on the floor in a crying mess right then and there. It was probably one of the nicest things any one has ever said to me. In that moment I realized my little boy brother was now a man, a good man. I’m so proud of him. I can only hope other people his age feel the same. Maybe change is near, maybe “it’s time”.

5 thoughts on “My Brothers Reaction

  1. Wow man. That is so powerful. I feel the love mate. That video has changed many people. Your brother is obviously a great kid. I wanna meet both u one day for a beer. I wish my tradie bro was the same. We havent spoken for ages/years. His choice. You are lucky man. Hugs

  2. Oh my gosh! That was the best reply you could have asked for!! I’m coming out soon and I’m really hoping that my family reacts positively… Don’t think I should aim that high though! WOW… Jealous.

Leave a Reply

